top of page

My Equipment


Hi guys! This article is going to be about what equipment I use and what equipment I recommend. Most beginners probably won't know some of the things here and that's why I made this, to teach beginners what equipment is good starting out and why it's so good.

So I'm gonna start off with my general stuff used on both electric and acoustic and then I'll go through each type specifically

Capo

I use a very simple clamp capo, theres nothing really special about different types of capo's.

My capo was cheap, around 5 euro but I think the clamp type like mine work best and are very easy to

use especially for beginners.

As you can see you simply squeeze it and fit it around the neck of the guitar.

Tuner

I'm currently using a Tanglewood TCT1 tuner.

I have found this tuner to be the most reliable tuner. I had a tuner but the problem with it was it tuned it to high pitched so it was out of tune but this one is perfect and only cost around 10 euro

Cleaning stuff and string winder

I'm using a cleanig kit I found on Gear4Music.com.

​If you watch my string change and guitar clean video (click here to go to the video) I explain that the cleaning solution is mainly water adn a little bit of wood oils and wax. The cloth comes with it too and is very good to rub the polish on with. The string winder also comes with this set and does the job perfectly, it is much easier to take off strings with it and its is again very cheap and very simple.

Picks

For my acoustic I use 4 types of picks

This isn't a good picture but I'll explain from left to right

Far left: Jim Dunlop .46mm, a brilliant pick for aacoustic, very light and very little extra noise caused, givesa soft gentle sound for picking and strumming

Left middle: Jim Dunlop .46mm Riffs, another great pick esepcially for riffs and solos

Right middle: Jim Dunlop .60mm, another general all round pick for the acoustic

Far right: Jim Dunlop .50mm TORTEX, a brilliant pick for picking and solos, hard but with a bit of give as its still quite thin

These would be my 4 choices of picks if I was playing personally as they are very good and mostly soft for the acoustic. If you've another opinion or great pick make sure you email me!

For my acoutic I use 3 main picks

Left: Jim Dunlop 1mm pick, a great strumming, very durable and reliable

Right: Jim Dunlop XL pick, very good for plucking especially solos, very hard not really suitable for strumming

Jim Dunlop .96mm Riffs, A brilliant all round pick for strumming, plucking and of course riffs, soft but also hard, very durable and good

Photo credit: gitarownia.pl

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

A  website for  music lovers!

A great website for any interested in music, I post regular updates on songs, artists, music news or anything else i find interesting related to music, I also make and post some tips and tutorials!

Follow me on my social media accounts!

  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
bottom of page